The Equal Rights Blog Hop

equal_rights_blog_hop_button-400x398

The theme of this Hop is “Your First experience in the LGBT Community”.  My very first experience with the LGBT Community happened when I was in high school and I attended my first gay rights function. Granted as a Freshman who had just moved to a bigger city from small town America I wasn’t sure what to expect. Upon walking around and chatting with others who were attending I felt welcomed. Gay rights was the central focus and the overall feeling of the gathering was joyful and supportive. I made many friends that day and my eyes were opened to a new reality. I love being a part of the LGBT Community and I especially adore the wonderful LGBT writing community who have welcomed me with open arms. So, my first experience was a positive one. I hope in my life that I can help welcome people into the LGBT Community with the same warmth and acceptance that was given to me.

I’ve shared my story with you, but there are so many more…so hop along to check out the other blogs by clicking the link below. ALSO, don’t forget to enter into the BIG giveaway! Just follow the same link below for a list of the amazing prizes and to get to the rafflecopter! To enter my giveaway, just leave a comment about what you love about the LGBT Community. I’ll be giving away a ten dollar Amazon gift card. 🙂

http://queertownabbey.com/the-equal-rights-blog-hop-july-4th-through-11th/

 

11 thoughts on “The Equal Rights Blog Hop

  1. Thank you for sharing your story I’m so pleased you enjoyed the gathering and made lots of friends.

    ShirleyAnn(at)speakman40(dot)freeserve(dot)co(dot)uk

  2. The recurring theme to everyone’s stories here in the hop seems to be one of acceptance–it gives me hope for the future, for a day when acceptance is the norm and no one questions it. 🙂

  3. Thank you for sharing your story with us! =) What I love about the community is the love & acceptance of who you are no matter what. =) I don’t remember my first experiance but I remember when I started going to NYC & my friend had come out & him bringing me along to meet his friends,… some where theatre ppl working in broadway & off broadway stuff. They brought me in & took me under their wing no questions asked! They were so fun & one yr I was with them to watch the Tony awards at a bar in the times square area, & then afterwards the cast of Jersey Boys came into that bar for their after party! It was so awesome lol. I was the straight girl in the group too. =)

    Thank you for the giveaway!. =)

    Take care & I hope you have a great week!

    Brandi
    BLeigh1130 at yahoo dot com

  4. This world would be a much better place is everyone took a page out of the LGBT community play book about acceptance. Corny I know, but so true.

  5. I guess it goes with acceptance, but having the courage to be yourself is what I love. Thanks for sharing with us, Draven!

  6. Hi Draven,

    I want to send a personal thank you for your participation in The Equal Rights Blog Hop. Thanks to you the Blog Hop was a great success.

    I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy and safe summer.

    All the best,

    Anders
    Founder/Administrations Manager
    Queer Town Abbey

Leave a Reply

